Improving Your Conversion Rate: Guide for Game Developers

March 21, 2023
March 21, 2023

Mobile games is a $50 billion industry, but only about 5% of all gamers spend money on the games they play. That 95% of players who are not spending money represents a huge opportunity for game companies to increase profits. However, getting those players to part with their money is not an easy task.

Conversion is the process of convincing players to take an action, such as making an in-game purchase. Improving your customer conversion rate is one of the best ways to tap into that 95% of players who are not spending money.

Key Takeaways:

  • Most people who play games never make a purchase. Converting more non-paying players to paying customers can dramatically boost revenue.
  • Your customer conversion rate measures how well your marketing campaigns are performing.
  • Improving your customer conversion rate can lower the cost of acquiring paying customers and provide a higher return on investment.
  • There are a variety of strategies you can employ to improve conversions. The best ones for you depend on the type of game, your monetization strategy and your players.

What Is Your Customer Conversion Rate?

Conversion rates track the share of customers who perform a desired action. Your conversion rate is one of the most important measures of how effective your marketing campaign is.

Converting customers is a three-step process:

  1. Bring potential customers into your sales funnel.
  2. Get potential customers to complete a desired action.
  3. Turn potential customers into paying users.

For example, if you advertise your game on Facebook and a user installs your game after clicking a Facebook ad that linked that user to your game’s app store listing, that customer’s decision to install the app is a conversion.

Graphical representation of the stages of the sales funnel
https://suzanneperkinsm.medium.com/what-is-a-sales-funnel-and-why-websites-dont-work-anymore-1450fc99e69b

Formula for Customer Conversion Rate

To determine your conversion rate, take the number of conversions and divide it by the total number of visitors, then multiply the result by 100.

              Conversion rate (x) = [Number of conversions/Total number of visitors] * 100

For example, if you have 1,000 users and 50 of them make an in-app purchase, your conversion rate is 50/1000 = 0.05 * 100 = 5%.

Why Is Your Customer Conversion Rate Important?

Your conversation rate demonstrates how effective your marketing campaigns are. Improving your conversion rates can have multiple benefits for your game:

  • More installs
  • Higher revenue from in-app purchases
  • Longer in-game sessions
  • Better return on investment
  • Increased customer lifetime value
  • Better customer retention rates

Improving your conversion rates can also lower the amount you must spend to acquire new customers.

Graphical representation of the customer acquisition cost formula
https://www.lido.app/metrics/customer-acquisition-cost

What Are the Different Types of Customer Conversion Rates?

For games, there are two main types of conversion rates.

Install Rate

Install rate measures the percentage of users who install your game after visiting a listing for it in an app store, on your website, or on some other sales platform, such as the Steam store. High install rates are particularly important for mobile games that rely on in-app advertising and purchases for revenue because users must install the game before there is any opportunity to generate this type of revenue.

IAP Conversion Rate

The IAP conversion rate measures the percentage of users who make an in-app purchase in a game. In-app purchases include in-game items, power-ups, skins, downloadable content, and subscription upsells.

How Do You Improve Your Customer Conversion Rate?

There are a variety of strategies you can utilize to improve your conversion rates.

Run Better Ads

Before you can get users to do anything, you must first attract them to your game’s listing page. One of the best ways to do this is to run effective ads. Video ads tend to perform better than banner ads because they hold the viewers' attention longer and give viewers a chance to see your game in action. Make sure your video ads feature the most engaging parts of your game.

Improve Your App Store Listings

Most users decide whether they will download an app within a few seconds of landing on the listing page. Pay particular attention to the elements of your listing page that have the largest impact on install rates:

  • Game name
  • Game description
  • Reviews and ratings
  • Visual elements, such as screenshots, app icons, and gameplay videos

The visual assets you choose are particularly important. Many of your visitors may decide whether to install your game based only on how appealing the visuals are.

Keep Adding New Content

The more often players play your game, the more likely they are to make a purchase. Making sure there is enough new content in your game to keep players coming back can boost your customer conversion rate.

Introduce IAPs Early

Users who are willing to make in-game purchases are usually willing to do so from the start. Waiting too late into the game to offer IAPs could be a missed opportunity to drive conversions.

Time IAPs Correctly

Make sure you offer players the chance to buy things when they most need them. For example, players are most likely to purchase extra lives or hints at points in the game where they are having trouble progressing.

Be Careful With Ads

If you are offering IAPs, avoid chasing off paying customers by running too many ads that interrupt the game experience. Consider running rewarded ads that offer players some kind of value for interacting with the ad instead of traditional ads.

How Can Sonamine Improve Your Customer Conversion Rate?

Converting players to paying customers is a multi-step process. Sonamine can help you with every stage. Our monetization services identify how well your ads are performing and help you analyze what you need to do to convince customers to make their first purchases, set up conversion campaigns, optimize your IAPs, increase subscriptions, and more.

No matter which stage of the conversion funnel you are stuck on, we can improve your customer conversion rate. Contact us today to get started.

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For a limited time until June 2024, Sonamine is offering a 60 day money back guarantee to Braze customers. Come experience the ease and simplicity of the First Time Spender Nudge package and watch your conversions soar.

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